December 12, 2008

  • The End

    “Mom?” Robert yelled as he ran up the stairs to where I was sitting. “I just left the probation officer’s office, and guess what?”

    “What, son?”

    “It’s over,” he said, barely able now to contain his excitement. “I am a free man. 100% free. No more probation visits, no more peeing in a cup once a month, and no more 30 dollars a month for probation fees. Free!”

    Pinch me. I want to make sure that this isn’t a dream. My s on, who has had some connection to the courts since he was about 14, is totally, completely, free. And I am crying, again. Only this time, the tears are cleansing in a much better way than ever before.

    My son is free to enjoy his wonderful family without looking over his shoulder at every turn, and we can all breathe in a way that we haven’t in many, many, many years.  

    Nic turns 18 004

                             I love these guys.

Comments (17)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *